South Africa India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India South Africa Cricket News October 2006

Indian team for South Africa tour announced

Baroda paceman Zaheer Khan and ace spinner Anil Kumble today made a comeback to India's one-day squad for the tour of South Africa starting next month.
Test opener Wasim Jaffer was also named in the 16-member squad announced here by Cricket Board Secretary Niranjan Shah. Injured duo of Ajit Agarkar and Yuvraj Singh were included in the squad subject to passing a fitness test. In case they fail to pass the fitness test, their places would be taken by VRV Singh and Dinesh Kaarthick respectively. The fitness test will take place on November 10, nine days before the team embarks for South Africa. Indian ODI Squad Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid (Captain), Wasim Jaffer, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Mongia, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Wicket Keeper), Irfan Pathan, Yuvraj Singh (Dinesh Karthik on stand-by), Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble, Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Munaf Patel, Ajit Agarkar (VRV Singh on stand-by).

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

ICC Champions Trophy 2006 Semi Finals

Second Semi-Final, SA vs WI: Gayle puts Windies in Final

Chris Gayle hit 133, his 15th ODI century, as West Indies beat South Africa by six wickets to reach the ICC Champions Trophy final. He put on 154 in 26 overs for the first wicket with Shiv Chanderpaul, who retired hurt on 57. It was his third century of the tournament.Earlier South Africa lost 8 wickets, reaching 258 in their allotted 50 overs. Gibbs top scored with 77, while Taylor, Bravo and Samuels took 2 wickets each. South Africa (Playing XI) : Graeme Smith (Captain), Mark Boucher, Loots Bosman, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, Justin Kemp, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Robin Peterson, Shaun Pollock.
West Indies (Playing XI) : Brian Lara (Captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Shivnaraine Chanderpaul, Runako Morton, Dwayne Bravo, Ian Bradshaw, Dwayne Smith, Carlton Baugh, Jerome Taylor, Marlon Samuels.
ICC Champions Trophy, Jaipur: West Indies 262-4 (44 ovs) bt South Africa 258-8 (50 ovs) by 6 wkts

Tough test for West Indies

Defending champions West Indies will face a stern test when they take on South Africa in the second semifinal of the ICC Champions Trophy in Jaipur on Thursday. South Africa team (from) : Graeme Smith (capt.), Boeta Dippenaar, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Justin Kemp, Abraham Devilliers, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Andrew Hall, Andrew Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Robin Peterseon, Loots Bosman and Charl Langeveldt.
West Indies team (from) : Brian Lara (capt.), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Runako Morton, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Carlton Baugh, Fidel Edwards, Ian Bradshaw, Jerome Taylor, Marlon Samuels, Wavell Hinds.

South Africa Team

1. Graeme Smith (Captain), 2. Jacques Kallis, 3. Loots Bosman, 4. Mark Boucher (Wicket Keeper), 5. AB de Villiers, 6. Boeta Dippenaar, 7. Herschelle Gibbs, 8. Andrew Hall, 9. Jusin Kemp, 10. Charl Langeveldt, 11. Andre Nel, 12. Makhaya Ntini, 13. Robi Peterson, 14. Shaun Pollock

South Africa Match Schedules

Current ODI Ranking: 2
October 16, 2006 vs New Zealand Mumbai
October 24, 2006 vs Qualifier 1 Motera
October 27, 2006 vs Pakistan Mohali

South Africa Past ICC Champions Trophy Record

Matches Played: 10
Matches Won: 7
Matches Lost: 3
Performance in 2004: Group Stage
Performance in 2002: Semi-Finalists
Performance in 2000: Semi-Finalists
Performance in 1998: Winners

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.