South Africa India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India South Africa Cricket Series 2006-07

India vs South Africa Twenty20 International at New Wanderers Stadium

Twenty20 @ Johannesburg: India beat South Africa in a thrilling finish

India beat South Africa by six wickets with a ball to spare in a thrilling finish to the day/night Twenty20 clash in Johannesburg. India lost Tendulkar for 10 and Dhoni for 0, but Suresh Raina (3) and Dinesh Karthik (31) guided India to 127-4 and victory. India XI: S R Tendulkar, V Sehwag, M S Dhoni, D Mongia, K D Karthik, S K Raina, I K Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, A B Agarkar, S Sreesanth, Z Khan
South Africa XI: G C Smith, L L Bosman, H H Gibbs, A B de Villiers, T Henderson, J M Kemp, C K Langeveldt, J J van der Wath, J A Morkel, R Telemachus, R J Peterson
Twenty20, Johannesburg: India (127-4) bt South Africa (126-9) by six wickets

India's first Twenty20

History will be made at the Wanderers on Friday evening when India takes part in its first Twenty20 international contest.
The South Africans, despite the absence of stars, are not likely to make the occasion a memorable one for the visitors, though. The host will be without key players Jacques Kallis, Shaun Pollock, Mark Boucher, Mkhaya Ntini, Andre Nel and Andrew Hall. But they will not be without confidence.
The selectors here are keen on cricketers like Tyron Henderson, Albie Morkel, Roger Telemachus, Robin Peterson and Johan van der Wath showcasing their talent. South Africa will be hosting the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup in September 2007 Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban have been selected as venues and much importance is being attached to cricket of this variety in these parts.

India South Africa Cricket Series 2006-07

India vs South Africa Twenty20 at Johannesburg


South Africa won the toss and decided to bat
126 for 9 (20.0 overs)
127 for 4 (19.5 overs)

South Africa Innings
G C Smith lbw b Z Khan
21 3 0
L L Bosman c S R Tendulkar b Z Khan
7 0 0
H H Gibbs c S K Raina b A B Agarkar
7 1 0
J M Kemp lbw b S R Tendulkar
25 3 0
A B de Villiers c M S Dhoni b A B Agarkar
4 0 1
J A Morkel c D Mongia b S Sreesanth
18 1 3
J J van der Wath c S K Raina b Harbhajan Singh
21 1 0
R J Peterson run out
12 0 0
T Henderson run out
2 0 0
R Telemachus not out
3 0 0
C K Langeveldt not out
1 0 0
1nb 8w 4lb 13
for 9 126 (20.0 ovs)

Z Khan 4.0 0 15 2
S Sreesanth 4.0 0 33 1
A B Agarkar 2.3 1 10 2
I K Pathan 4.0 0 30 0
S R Tendulkar 2.3 0 12 1
Harbhajan Singh 3.0 0 22 1
Fall of wicket
19 L L Bosman
31 H H Gibbs
34 G C Smith
41 A B de Villiers
64 J M Kemp
101 J A Morkel
120 R J Peterson
120 J J van der Wath
123 T Henderson

India Innings
V Sehwag run out
29 5 1
S R Tendulkar
b C K Langeveldt
12 2 0
D Mongia c C K Langeveldt b R J Peterson
45 4 1
M S Dhoni
b C K Langeveldt
2 0 0
K D Karthik not out
28 3 1
S K Raina not out
4 0 0
1nb 3w 7lb 11
for 4 127 (19.5 ovs)

J J van der Wath 4.0 0 18 0
C K Langeveldt 4.0 0 20 2
R Telemachus 4.0 0 28 0
T Henderson 4.0 0 31 0
J A Morkel 2.0 0 12 0
R J Peterson 1.5 0 11 1
Fall of wicket
18 S R Tendulkar
60 V Sehwag
71 M S Dhoni
108 D Mongia

Umpires: I L Howell, B G Jerling

The Venue

New Wanderers Stadium

Wanderers Stadium is a stadium situated just south of Sandton in Illovo, Johannesburg in Gauteng Province, South Africa. Test, One Day and First class cricket matches are played here. It is also the home ground for the Highveld Lions, formerly known as Gauteng (Transvaal).
The stadium has a seating capacity of 30,000, and was built in 1956 to replace the Old Wanderers Stadium. It was completely overhauled following South Africa's readmission to international cricket in 1991. In 1996, five new 65 metre high floodlight masts replaced the existing four 30 metre high masts enabling day-night limited-overs cricket. The Cricket World Cup 2003 final was held at the Wanderers Stadium. On 1 October 2004, the Wanderers Clubhouse was virtually destroyed by fire.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.