South Africa India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India South Africa Cricket Series 2006-07

India vs South Africa Third ODI at Newlands

Third ODI at Newlands : India loses by 106 runs as Kemp shines

South Africa wrapped up the second ODI by 106 runs to go 2-0 up with two more ODIs left in the series. Zaheer Khan's good opening burst was neutralized by Justin Kemp's unbeaten 100*, his maiden in ODIs. The total of 274 was just too much for the Indians, for whom only Rahul Dravid and MS Dhoni could get going. Shaun Pollock finished with a fine 4 for 26, while Hall backed his batting heroics with 3 for 45. Earlier, a superb display of power hitting from Justin Kemp inspired South Africa to 274-7 in the third one-dayer, after India had reduced them to 76-6. Zaheer Khan took 3-42, but Irfan Pathan and Ajit Agarker went for more than seven an over as Kemp hit out late on. India XI: Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid (Captain), Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Dhoni, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble.
South Africa XI: Graeme Smith (Captain), Loots Bosman, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Mark Boucher, Justin Kemp, Shaun Pollock, Andrew Hall, Makhaya Ntini, Charl Langeveldt.

Munaf out of Third ODI at Newlands

India have ruled pace bowler Munaf Patel out of Sunday's third one-day international against South Africa but hope Virender Sehwag will return.
Patel, who took two wickets in defeat on Wednesday, has a sore left ankle.
A slower and less bouncy pitch is expected in the Cape, which will suit India's beleaguered batsmen, but the South Africans will be fired by the prospect of winning two on the trot. South Africa defeated India by a whopping 157 runs - the Proteas' biggest win ever over India - at the Kingsmead Stadium Wednesday to take a 1-0 lead in the five-match series. The capitulation raised a furore in India and the BCCI president Sharad Pawar reacted by asking chairman of selectors Dilip Vengsarkar to go to South Africa for the three-match Test series.
It is suggested that the move to bring Vengsarkar could be interpreted as more show than anything else. Meanwhile there is talk of the BCCI considering the introduction of a performance-based payment system for the players when the new contracts come up from discussion upon the team's return in January. Teams:
India: Rahul Dravid, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Jaffer, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Mongia, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble, S. Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Munaf Patel and Ajit Agarkar
South Africa: Graeme Smith, Loots Bosman, Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs, A.B. de Villiers, Mark Boucher, Justin Kemp, Shaun Pollock, Robin Peterson, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini, Boeta Dippenaar, Andrew Hall and Charl Langeveldt

India South Africa Cricket Series 2006-07

India vs South Africa Third ODI at Newlands


South Africa won the toss and decided to bat
274 for 7 (50.0 overs)
168 all out (41.3 overs)

South Africa Innings
G C Smith
b Z Khan
2 0 0
L L Bosman c S R Tendulkar b Z Khan
26 1 0
J H Kallis c S R Tendulkar b Z Khan
2 0 0
H H Gibbs c M Kaif b I K Pathan
40 7 0
A B de Villiers c M S Dhoni b A B Agarkar
30 5 0
M V Boucher run out
16 0 0
J M Kemp not out
89 6 7
S M Pollock run out
50 5 0
A J Hall not out
47 7 0
2nb 8w 1lb 11
for 7 274 (50.0 ovs)

Z Khan 10.0 4 42 3
A B Agarkar 9.0 0 71 1
I K Pathan 8.0 1 60 1
A Kumble 10.0 1 24 0
Harbhajan Singh 10.0 0 63 0
S R Tendulkar 3.0 0 13 0
Fall of wicket
0 G C Smith
0 J H Kallis
38 L L Bosman
42 H H Gibbs
71 M V Boucher
76 A B de Villiers
136 S M Pollock

India Innings
V Sehwag c A J Hall b S M Pollock
4 0 0
S R Tendulkar c L L Bosman b S M Pollock
9 0 0
R Dravid c A J Hall b S M Pollock
103 4 1
M Kaif
b S M Pollock
17 1 0
K D Karthik c G C Smith b M Ntini
23 2 1
M S Dhoni c L L Bosman b J H Kallis
48 3 4
I K Pathan c G C Smith b J H Kallis
10 0 0
Harbhajan Singh c G C Smith b A J Hall
12 2 0
A B Agarkar c G C Smith b A J Hall
9 1 0
Z Khan not out
11 0 0
A Kumble
b A J Hall
3 0 0
4w 1lb 5
all out 168 (41.3 ovs)

S M Pollock 9.0 1 26 4
M Ntini 7.0 2 13 1
A J Hall 9.3 0 45 3
C K Langeveldt 5.0 0 31 0
J H Kallis 8.0 0 29 2
J M Kemp 1.0 0 13 0
G C Smith 2.0 0 10 0
Fall of wicket
0 V Sehwag
7 S R Tendulkar
17 M Kaif
44 K D Karthik
129 M S Dhoni
133 I K Pathan
148 Harbhajan Singh
156 A B Agarkar
168 R Dravid
168 A Kumble

Umpires: B R Doctrove, B G Jerling
South Africa: G C Smith, L L Bosman, H H Gibbs, J H Kallis, A B de Villiers, M V Boucher, J M Kemp, S M Pollock, A J Hall, M Ntini, C K Langeveldt
India: V Sehwag, S R Tendulkar, R Dravid, M Kaif, K D Karthik, M S Dhoni, I K Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, A B Agarkar, Z Khan, A Kumble

India South Africa Cricket Series 2006-07

India vs South Africa Third ODI : Venue


Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town is a South African cricket ground. It's the home of the Cape Cobras, who play in the SuperSport Series, Standard Bank Cup for ODI's and Pro20 competitions. It is also a venues for Test matches. It is one of the most beautiful cricket grounds in the world, being overlooked by Table Mountain and Devil's Peak. It is close to Newlands Stadium, which is a rugby and football venue.
Newlands is one of the few cricket grounds in South Africa that tends to favour spinners. Most grounds tend to favour pacemen or batsmen, but the Western Cape has had a history of having very good spinners, a recent example being Paul Adams.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.